FAQ Soundart

- frequently asked questions concerning Soundart

Question: What is "soundart"?

Answer: Sound art is the art of organizing sound (instrumental, vocal or synthetic or recorded with the microphone from our sounding environment) into a musical composition. Text, sound or music are material in the hands of the sound composer. The result bears numerous names: Ars Acustica, Audio Art, digital radio art, soundscape, sound composition, etc.

Question: So sound art is music?

Answer: yes and no. This acoustic art form is so open that it excludes conceptual limitation. It is the musical side of radio art. It is the laboratory, in which new acoustic forms are developed. It is story telling using the means of sound, noise, music and voice.

Question: Is sound art a radio-form?

Answer: Sound art also exists as concert, performance or sound installation outside of radio, but radio is a central medium for sound art. Deutschlandradio awards 12 composition commissions for sound compositions a year, and together with the freelance author's productions about 25 new pieces are broadcasted every year.

Question: How long has there been sound art at Deutschlandradio?

Answer: Since the station was founded in 1994. First under the somewhat misleading name “HörspielWerkstatt”.

Since 2006 its name tells what it is: "Soundart", weekly at midnight 55 minutes of sound compositions, without borders, unheard-of.

Question: How did you get into sound art as a radio play director and editor? And why is sound art part of the radio play program?

Answer: Radio play and sound art tell stories and both work with the same materials: voice, sound, music. With one crucial difference: in radio play, music and noise serve the word - while in sound art all these elements are fundamentally equivalent as material in the hand of the sound composer. Stories can be told with music, sound or words. Most of the time, however, the work is an individual mixture of all these elements.

For me as a radio play director, the discovery of sound art was a kind of liberation from the dominance of the word, the text, which everything has to serve, and at the same time from the illustrative function of the music and the sounds. I asked myself why I usually only wanted to listen to a radio play once, but music - whether Mozart, Penderecki or the Rolling Stones - again and again. The answer I found in sound art as radio art: ideally it has the same openness and complexity as a poem or piece of music in which my listening imagination can move freely.

Question: Does one need previous knowledge to understand sound art?

Answer: Sound art should not be understood but experienced - and that is accessible to every listener. Its roots lie not only in new music (such as the Musique concrète), but also in pop music. Elements of this can be found at The Beatles or Pink Floyd and quite a few of my sound composers work as DJs in clubs. However, sound art also presupposes the increasingly rare art of listening from the listener.

Question: Why do so many works in your program have English titles?

Answer: The broadcast 'Klangkunst' at Deutschlandradio is a broadcast for international sound art. Unlike the radio play, sound is not limited by national languages. That is why almost 50% of my show also presents masterpieces by foreign sound composers.

Question: Do you have personal preferences among your programs?

Answer: As much as I look forward to the broadcasts of new works - my heart is still attached to the quarterly newcomer workshop, which is not dedicated to the masters of sound art, but to the unfinished, talented seekers, the young noisemakers and troublemakers. Don't you call unrest the particle that keeps the clock going?

Question: What advice do you have for anyone interested in getting to know sound art?

Answer: Switch on Deutschlandradio Kultur and go on an audio journey. Every week in the night from Thursday to Friday from 0.05 a.m. to 1 a.m.


en_GBEnglish (UK)
en_GBEnglish (UK) de_DEDeutsch

FAQ Klangkunst

(Häufig gestellte Fragen zur Klangkunst)

Frage: Was ist das, "Klangkunst"?

Antwort: Klangkunst ist die Kunst, Klang (instrumental, stimmlich oder synthetisch erzeugt oder mit dem Mikrophon aus unserer klingenden Umwelt aufgezeichnet) zu einer musikalischen Komposition zu organisieren. Text, Klang oder Musik sind Material in der Hand des Klangkomponisten. Das Ergebnis trägt zahlreiche Namen: Ars Acustica, Audio Art, digitale Radiokunst, Soundscape, Klangkomposition u.a.

Frage: Also ist Klangkunst Musik?

Antwort: Ja und nein. Diese akustische Kunstform ist so offen, dass sie sich begrifflicher Eingrenzung entzieht. Es ist die musikalische Seite des Hörspiels. Es ist das Labor, in dem neue akustische Formen entwickelt werden. Es ist ein Geschichtenerzählen mit den Mitteln von Klang, Geräusch, Musik und Stimme.

Frage: Ist Klangkunst eine Radioform?

Antwort: Klangkunst existiert als Konzert, Performance oder Klanginstallation auch außerhalb des Radios, aber das Radio ist ein zentrales Medium für die Klangkunst. Deutschlandradio vergibt im Jahr 12 Kompositionsaufträge für Klangkompositonen, und zusammen mit den freien Autorenproduktionen werden ca. 25 neue Stücke pro Jahr urgesendet.

Frage: Seit wann gibt es Klangkunst im Deutschlandradio?

Antwort: Seit der Gründung des Senders im Jahr 1994. Zuerst unter dem ein wenig irreführenden Namen "HörspielWerkstatt".

Seit 2006 trägt es im Namen, was es vorstellt: "Klangkunst", wöchentliche 55 Minuten mitternächtlicher Klangkomposition, grenzenlos, unerhört.

Frage: Wie sind Sie als Hörspielregisseur und -redakteur zur Klangkunst gekommen? Und warum ist Klangkunst Teil des Hörspielprogramms?

Antwort: Hörspiel und Klangkunst erzählen Geschichten und beide arbeiten mit den gleichen Materialien: Stimme, Klang, Musik. Mit einem entscheidenden Unterschied: im Hörspiel dienen Musik und Geräusch dem Wort – während in der Klangkunst alle diese Elemente grundsätzlich gleichwertig sind als Material in der Hand des Klangkomponisten. Geschichten können mit Musik, mit Klang oder mit Worten erzählt werden. Meist ist das Werk aber eine individuelle Mischung all dieser Elemente.

Für mich als Hörspielregisseur war die Entdeckung der Klangkunst eine Art Befreiung von der Dominanz des Wortes, des Textes, dem alles zu dienen hat und gleichzeitig von der illustrativen Funktion der Musik und der Geräusche. Ich habe mich gefragt, warum ich ein Hörspiel meist nur ein mal hören wollte, Musik aber – gleich ob Mozart, Penderecki oder die Rolling Stones – immer wieder. Die Antwort fand ich in der Klangkunst als Radiokunst: sie hat im Idealfall die gleiche Offenheit und Vielschichtigkeit wie ein Gedicht oder Musikstück, in dem sich meine Hörphantasie frei bewegen kann.

Frage: Braucht man Vorkenntnisse, um Klangkunst zu verstehen?

Antwort: Klangkunst soll nicht verstanden, sondern erfahren werden – und das ist jedem Hörer zugänglich. Ihre Wurzeln liegen nicht nur in der Neuen Musik (wie etwa der Musique concrète), sondern ebenso in der Popmusik. Elemente davon finden sich bei den Beatles oder bei Pink Floyd und nicht wenige meiner Klangkomponisten arbeiten als DJs in Clubs. Allerdings setzt die Klangkunst beim Hörer auch die immer seltener werdende Kunst des Zuhörens voraus.

Frage: Warum tragen so viele Werke in Ihrem Programm englische Titel?

Antwort: Die Sendung Klangkunst im Deutschlandradio ist eine Sendung für internationale Klangkunst. Klang ist – anders als das Hörspiel – nicht an Nationalsprachen gebunden. Deshalb stellt meine Sendung zu fast 50% auch Meisterwerke ausländischer Klangkomponisten vor.

Frage: Haben Sie persönliche Vorlieben unter ihren Sendungen?

Antwort: So sehr ich mich auf die Ursendungen neuer Werke freue - mein Herz hängt doch an der vierteljährliche Newcomer Werkstatt, die nicht den Meistern der Klangkunst gewidmet ist, sondern den Unfertigen, Begabten, Suchenden, den jungen Krachmachern und Unruhestiftern. Nennt man Unruhe nicht das Teilchen, das die Uhr in Gang hält?

Frage: Was raten Sie Interessierten, die Klangkunst kennen lernen möchte?

Antwort: Deutschlandradio Kultur einzuschalten und sich auf Hör-Reise zu begeben. Jede Woche in der Nacht von Donnerstag auf Freitag um 0.05 Uhr bis 1 Uhr.


de_DEDeutsch
de_DEDeutsch en_GBEnglish (UK)